Lowell Regional Transit Authority

LRTA Fixed Route Bus Service: 978-452-6161
Road Runner ADA Paratransit: 978-459-0152

About LRTA

Our Mission

To provide convenient, comfortable, safe, reliable, cost-effective mobility services contributing to the economic vitality of the region.


The Lowell Regional Transit Authority (LRTA) began operations in late 1976, pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 161B of the General Laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. The Authority is given general responsibility to develop, finance, and contract for the operation of mass transportation facilities and services within its territory.

How We Are Funded

The LRTA is a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts funded by federal, state and local monies, as well as farebox and advertising revenues. Our Annual operating budget is $10 million dollars, and  up to 75% of the net cost of service is provided by the state. Fareboxes cover about 15-30% of the overall operating costs. The city of Lowell and the Towns served by the LRTA buses pay an assessed amount, depending on the number of miles served in that city/town, and increases are capped at 2 1/2% per year.

Federal funds must be used for what are called capital projects, which means the funds can only be spent on tangible items such as equipment, preventive maintenace of vehicles, facilities and equipment, ADA services, facility improvements and purchasing vehicles. Operating expenses include items such as salaries, benefits, advertising and marketing expenses.


The day-to-day affairs of the Transit Authority are managed by the Administrator, James H. Scanlan. This position is appointed by the LRTA Advisory Board. The LRTA Advisory Board includes members from each of the 14 communities in the LRTA’s service area.

Thomas Bomil, Chairman
Town of Dracut

Philip Shea, Vice Chairman

City of Lowell

Mike Gowing, Treasurer

Town of Acton

Andrew Jennings
Town of Billerica

Timothy D. Goddard
Town of Carlisle

George Dixon 
Town of Chelmsford

David Tully
Town of Dunstable

Jay Rider

Town Of Groton

Gregory Johnson
Town of Maynard

Susan McCarthy, Clerk
Town of Pepperell

Mark Kratman

Town of Tewksbury

Donna Howard
Town of Townsend

Kevin O’Connor
Town of Tyngsborough

Terry Ryan

Town of Westford


David Ellingson
ADA Member Representing Lowell

Franny Osman
Rider Representative – Acton

Back to Top